Tuesday, 20 June 2017


Here is the proposed constitution for the Spartan South Midlands League for the 2017/18 campaign to be ratified and confirmed at the league's forthcoming AGM

Biggleswade FC - promoted from Division One 
Biggleswade United 
Colney Heath 
Crawley Green 
Edgware Town 
Harpenden Town - promoted from Division One 
Hoddesdon Town 
Holmer Green 
Leighton Town 
Leverstock Green 
London Colney 
London Tigers
Oxhey Jets 
St Margaretsbury 
Sun Sports 
Tring Athletic 
Welwyn Garden City 

Biggleswade FC and Harpenden Town are promoted after finishing first and second in Division One last season. Champion's London Colney declined promotion as previously reported with runner's up Hertford Town taking their place. Ware were originally placed in the SSMFL Premier after relegation from Division One (North) of the Ryman League - they have since received a reprieve. 

Ampthill Town 
Baldock Town 
Broadfields United 
Buckingham Athletic 
Enfield Borough - promoted from Division Two
FC Broxbourne Borough - relegated from Division One  
Harefield United 
Hatfield Town 
Hillingdon Borough 
London Lions - promoted from Herts Senior County Premier 
New Bradwell St Peter - promoted from Division Two 
Rayners Lane - sideways move from Hellenic League Division One (East)  
Risborough Rangers 
Southall (Provisional)
Winslow United 
Wodson Park 
Woodford Town - will be ground-sharing at FC Broxbourne Borough

Enfield Borough and New Bradwell St Peter move up from Division One along with Hertfordshire Senior County League Champion's London Lions who make a welcome return to the league after dropping out in 2015. 

Rayners Lane move across from the Hellenic League Division One (East) with Woodford Town returning after dropping out at the end of the 2015 season. 

AFC Southgate - new club   
Amersham Town 
Aston Clinton 
Berkhamsted Raiders - new club 
Clean Slate 
Grendon Rangers 
Loughton Manor 
MK Gallacticos 
Mursley United 
Old Bradwell United 
Park View - new club 
Pitstone & Ivinghoe 
St Neots Town Reserves 
The 61FC (Luton) 
Tring Corinthians 
Tring Town AFC 
Unite MK FC
Three new clubs are scheduled to join Division Two. AFC Southgate were formed in 2011 and have a hugely successful youth section running sides from 4 to 18 year olds. This is their first foray into Adult Saturday/Senior football where they will groundshare at Hadley's Brickfield Lane ground. The new teams first pre-season friendly will be held on Saturday 1st July at 4pm against Arsenal Community to be held at the Market Road pitches in Islington. 

Berkhamstead Raiders are another club with a successful youth section with 78 teams and over 1,000 boys, girls and adults playing last season. They did enter a team in the Hertfordshire Senior County League Reserve and Development league last season but didn't complete the season unfortunately. 

Park View FC will be playing their home games at The New River Sports Centre on White Hart Lane in Wood Green, North London. They won the Amateur Football Combination Division One last season and have been members of the Middlesex County League in the past. They draw many of their players from the local Ghanaian community in London. 

AFC Dunstable Development 
Ampthill Town Development 
Aylesbury United Development (Provisional) 
Berkhamsted Development 
Biggleswade United Development 
Buckingham Athletic Development 
Cockfosters Development 
Colney Heath Development 
Harpenden Town Development 
Hertford Town Development 
Hoddesdon Town Development 
Holmer Green Development 
Leighton Town Development 
Risborough Rangers Development 
St Margaretsbury Development 
Stotfold Development 
Welwyn Garden City Development 
Winslow United Development

No comments:

Post a Comment