Saturday 24 March 2012


The final of the Hertfordshire Senior Centenary Trophy was played on Wednesday night at The County Ground in Letchworth between London Colney and Kings Langley of The Spartan South Midlands Division One.

The competition which is open to clubs whose first team play at Steps 6 and 7 of the the non-league pyramid saw 23 teams enter for the 2011/12 season and was started in 1984 as part of the Hertfordshire FA'S 100 year celebrations. The first winners were Welwyn Garden City who beat Pirton 2-1.

London Colney, who are top of their league table, were making their fifth appearance in the final (having lifted the Trophy three times) with Kings Langley making their debut.

London Colney had beat Chipperfield Corinthians 7-0 in the 2nd Round, London Lions 3-02 in the Quarter Final and Metropolitan Police Bushey 0-7 in the Semi-Final.

Kings Langley had beat Cuffley 2-3, Welwyn Garden City 0-5 and Sun Postal Sports 7-1 to get to their fist final and were, going into the match, in seventh place in the SSMFL Division One.

This was the fourth time the two clubs have met this season with the league meetings being won by London Colney 4-1 way back on Tuesday 16th August in front of 75 people at Cotlandswick, 4-0 by Kings Langley at Gaywood Park (crowd - 130) on Tuesday 27th August and a Division One Cup Quarter Final match 1-2 by Kings Langley at Cotlandswick on Tuesday 21st February in front of 80 people.

What an entertaining and fantastic game it was and a great advert for the Spartan South Midlands League! I won't spoil it for you as some of you may not know the result but the highlights are below including six goals and some brilliant saves and action.

1. Mark Whittamore 1. Ross Hampton
2. Dean Thompson 2. Jack Johnson
3. Dan McCafferty 3. Gary Wallace
4. Sean Murphy 4. Gary Connolly
5. Mark Paradise 5. Liam Jones
6. Trevor Stevens 6. Steve Noonan
7. Craig Knightly 7. Evan Connolly
8. Greg Shaw 8. Sam Warrell
9. Matt Newman 9. James Thompson
10. James Warner 10. Craig Lynskey
11. John Butler 11. Nathan Pooley
12. Kenny Hull 12. Dan Campbell
14. Dean Adams (for 8) 14. Chis Mason (for 11)
15. Bruce Hutchison (for 3) 15. Artus Simakovas
16 Andy Murphy (for 5) 16. Luke Ladyman (for 10)
17. Seb Thomas 17. Dan Rice


No comments:

Post a Comment