Monday, 2 November 2015


The draw for the Second Qualifying Round of the 2015/16 FA Trophy has been made today with games due to be played on Saturday 14th November. The winners of the ties will receive a healthy £3250 from the Football Association's prize fund.

Eight of the twenty-four Ryman Premier Division sides who started on the road to Wembley at the weekend fell at the first hurdle with Hendon and Wingate & Finchley both beaten by teams from Step 4 of the non-league ladder - Hendon (beaten 0-1 at home by AFC Sudbury), Billericay Town (lost 0-2 at home to Chesham United), Harrow Borough (0-3 at home to Dulwich Hamlet), Burgess Hill Town (lost 3-2 at Hitchin Town), Leatherhead (lost 1-5 at home to Kingstonian),Needham Market (lost 0-2 at home to Canvey Island), Staines Town (lost 2-1 at VCD Athletic) and Wingate & Finchley (lost 0-2 at home to Royston Town).

Brentwood Town (at home to Aylesbury), Fanborough (at home to Bideford), Tonbridge Angels (at home to Phoenix Sports), Mertsham (away at Harlow Town) and Hampton & Richmond Borough v Lewes all are midweek replays.

Bury Town, Cheshunt, Waltham Abbey, Haringey Borough, Tilbury, Thamesmead Town and AFC Sudbury will all definately represent the Ryman Division One (North) with Harlow Town and Phoenix Sports will join them if they win their replays.

A special mention must go to Tom Loizou's Haringey Borough side who have saved their best form for the competition beating Division One (South) leaders Folkestone Invicta after a replay in the Preliminary Round and then recording a brilliant 1-3 win at Evo-Stik Southern Premier Division side Dunstable Town on Saturday. They will host Hitchin Town in the Second Qualifying Round.

Waltham Abbey have done the same as in the league they only have two wins in seventeen games but in the Trophy they have won both games on the road at Dereham Town (0-2) and Chalfont St Peter (1-3). Striker Christian Assombalonga is name to keep an eye on - He has been in good form for Martin Haye's side. The younger brother of Nottingham Forest's £5,000,000 man Britt Assonbalonga has scored eight goals for Abbey including two in the game against Dereham Town.  

Enfield Town (4-0 winners at home to Leighton Town) have a home draw to RD1N side Thamesmead Town who knocked them out of the 2011/12 competition.

Kingstonian (99 and 00), Grays Athletic (05 and 06), Matlock Town (75), Stafford Rangers (subject to replay result) (72 and 79), Burscough (03) and Canvey Island (01) are all former winners of the famous Trophy included in the Second Qualifying Round.

games to be played on the weekend of Saturday 14th November 2015 
Blyth Spartans v Whitby Town
Ashton United or Ramsbottom United v Histon or Stratford Town
Evesham United v Spennymoor Town
Buxton v Radcliffe Borough
Skelmersdale United or Hyde United v Stafford Rangers or Lincoln United
Sutton Coldfield Town v Darlington 1883
Nantwich Town v Belper Town or King’s Lynn Town
Shaw Lane Aquaforce v Matlock Town
Leamington v Rushall Olympic
Warrington Town v Basford United
Marine v Newcastle Town or Kidsgrove Athletic
Ilkeston v Stocksbridge Park Steels
Kettering Town v Burscough
Stourbridge v Carlton Town
Bideford or Farnborough v Aylesbury or Brentwood Town
St Neots Town v Hungerford Town or Banbury United
Haringey Borough v Hitchin Town
Thurrock v Cheshunt
Phoenix Sports or Tonbridge Angels v Cirencester Town
Enfield Town v Thamesmead Town
Tilbury v Royston Town
Leiston v Corinthian Casuals
Bedford Town v Weymouth
Swindon Supermarine v Chesham United
Taunton Town or Dorking Wanderers v Bognor Regis Town
Molesey v Merstham or Harlow Town
East Thurrock United v Tiverton Town
Waltham Abbey v Grays Athletic
Dulwich Hamlet v VCD Athletic
Frome Town v Slough Town
Lewes or Hampton & Richmond Borough v AFC Sudbury
Dorchester Town v Kingstonian
Marlow v Mangotsfield United
Canvey Island v Metropolitan Police
Hastings United v Merthyr Town
Bury Town v Herne Bay or Walton Casuals

No comments:

Post a Comment