Tuesday, 20 June 2017


The 2017/18 campaign will be the fortieth for the Combined Counties League. Here is the constitution for the season - 


Abbey Rangers 
A.F.C. Hayes 
Balham - promoted after finishing 3rd in Division One last season
Banstead Athletic - promoted as Champions of Division One 
Bedfont Sports 
Camberley Town 
CB Hounslow United 
Chertsey Town 
Colliers Wood United 
Epsom & Ewell 
Farnham Town 
Godalming Town - relegated from D1(S) of Ryman League 
Guildford City 
Hanworth Villa 
Horley Town 
North Greenford United 
Redhill - promoted as runner's up of Division One 
Spelthorne Sports 
Sutton Common Rovers 
Walton & Hersham 
Balham FC are one of the new sides in the Premier Division - The club were only formed back in 2011 as an adult team for the Balham Blazers youth club starting off in the Surrey South Eastern Combination and then moving on to the Surrey Elite Intermediate League. Finishing third in the 2014/15 season was enough for promotion to the CCL but the club's ground was not deemed suitable for that level of football. A move to ground share with Cobham allowed them promotion and they joined the CCL for the 2016/17 campaign where they finished third in Division One last season gaining promotion. For the 2017/18 campaign they will ground share with Colliers Wood United at The Wibbandune Stadium which is around 5 miles from their spiritual home at The Sir Walter Thomas Playing Fields in their home London Borough of Wandsworth. 

AC London 
Ash United 
Badshot Lea - relegated from Premier Division 
Bedfont & Feltham - relegated from Premier Division 
Chessington & Hook United 
Eversley & California 
Farleigh Rovers 
FC Deportivo Galicia - promoted from Middlesex County League 
Fleet Spurs - transferred from Wessex League Division One 
Frimley Green 
Kensington Borough - transferred from SSMFL Division One 
Raynes Park Vale - relegated from Premier Division 
South Park Reserves 
Staines Lammas 
Worcester Park 

FC Deportivo Galicia move up from the Middlesex County League having been members of that league for a number of years. The club were formed back in the late 60s by a group of immigrants from Galicia in North-West Spain formed their own football team in the West London area. For the 2017/18 season they will ground share with Bedfont Sports. 

Fleet Spurs are another new name to the league moving over from the Wessex League Divsion One - they have been members of the league since 2004. 

Kensington Borough are another new name to the league having moved across from the SSMFL Division One - they were ground sharing with Amersham Town but have now moved to share with Bedfont and Feltham. 

No comments:

Post a Comment